Revised ICD-10-CM codes for 2019, released by the National Center for Health Statistics, took effect October 1, 2018.  A handful of these changes pertain to mental disorders, and thus affect the coding of DSM-5 disorders. A crosswalk between the new ICD codes and DSM-5 codes is posted on the APA website in a printable format that can be used for easy reference.

DSM-5 contains all of the information needed to assign ICD-10-CM codes to patient diagnoses.  Use ICD-10 to:

  • Generate claims
  • Perform eligibility and benefits verification
  • Schedule office visits
  • Schedule outpatient procedures
  • Submit quality data
  • Update patient history and problems
  • Code patient encounters


For more information, visit cms.gov/ICD10.