Newly Elected 2023-2024 MPS Leadership

Congratulations to the members indicated by (*) who were elected last month to MPS positions for the coming year!  They are listed with other voting members of the MPS Council (board of directors).  The new terms begin after the April 20 MPS annual meeting.


President:                    Carol Vidal, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
President-Elect:          *Theodora G. Balis, M.D.
Secretary-Treasurer:   *Ronald F. Means, M.D.
Council Chair:              Jessica V. Merkel-Keller, M.D.

Benedicto R. Borja, M.D.
Kim L. Bright, M.D.
*Mary Cutler, M.D.
Catherine L. Harrison-Restelli, M.D.
*Tyler C. Hightower, M.D., M.P.H.
*Traci J. Speed, M.D., Ph.D.
Samuel L. Williams, III, M.D., M.B.A.
*Michael A. Young, M.D., M.S.

Early Career Psychiatrist Councilor
*Jamie D. Spitzer, M.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Councilor
*Hannah Paulding, M.D.

Past Presidents
Virginia L. Ashley, M.D.
Mark J. Ehrenreich, M.D.

APA Assembly Representatives
Annette L. Hanson, M.D.
Elias K. Shaya, M.D.
*Brian Zimnitzky, M.D.

MedChi Delegate
Enrique I. Oviedo, M.D.

APA Area 3 Trustee
Geetha Jayaram, M.D.

In addition, the following members were elected to a three-year term on the Nominations and Elections Committee:

Virginia L. Ashley, M.D.
Ann L. Hackman, M.D.

A total of 166 ballots were cast this year, with a participation rate of 22%.